Reason #219: Script Of The Bridge

chameleonsSuch an underrated band, these guys. All three Chameleons albums from the 1980’s deserve to be here, and this debut is my favorite of the bunch. It’s not regarded as the best in their discography by many critics (including allmusic), but I find it their most compelling listen. I never tire of it, and it always reveals more to me each time I hear it.

Up The Down Escalator is the one most are familiar with but this is a perfect 10 all ’round. For a debut it’s really remarkable for the confidence it exudes. The lyrics are among the most poetic of the decade, and the musicians, as they are on most subsequent releases, a cut or seven above the average.

Look, I don’t have a lot of time today to go song by song. Music this good doesn’t need analysis, anyway. If you don’t own this one, go out and get it. It is more than just a great post-punk album. It is one of the best albums of the last 50 years.

