Reason #220: Feed Us A Fetus, and many more…

daygloFull disclosure: I don’t listen to much hardcore punk nowadays, but I devoured it in the early-mid ’80’s. This post will serve as representation for all of the puerile, silly, stupid hardcore I had in my collection back then, as opposed to all of the smart, lyrical and funny hardcore punk I also had in my collection. I am now old enough to make that distinction. So this encompasses bands like the Angry Samoans, Stormtroopers Of Death, The Meatmen, Butthole Surfers, etc etc etc etc etc. These are the dumb ones, the ones with extreme shock value, and not a whole lot else. I think every teenage boy has to go through a stage of musical stupidity before they reach musical nirvana, and I was no exception. To this day if Stupid Songs by the Dayglo Abortions  comes on, or The Meatmen’s What’s This Shit Called Love, or The Buttholes (or is that The Surfers?) Movin’ To Florida I will no doubt listen. I’ll cringe or maybe even laugh at the lyrics and at the end just sit back and marvel at what a dope I must have been to take this stuff seriously…but I’ll listen. Stupid can be invigorating at times, though. Turn off your mind and just let it take you.

Let me reiterate that bands such as the Dead Kennedys, Black Flag, Motorhead, Bad Brains, and a whole lot more are excluded from this post. I still think a lot of what was considered punk, or hardcore, remains relevant and exciting to this day. The Dayglo’s and their ilk served their purpose, and are definitely of their time. They were never relevant, just a very loud and obnoxious outlet for a lot of angry teenage boys (and some girls…you know who you are). Designed to shock, and as a release, and not much more. You may disagree, and that’s fine, this is just one old punk’s opinion. I want a little more meat on my punk bone nowadays, that’s all.

Punk from this this era still has the means to move me, I must admit. It would be better if some of these songs were instrumentals is all I’m sayin’. Let me quote the great Lux Interior to end things here:

You ain’t no punk, you punk.
You wanna talk about the real junk?
If I ever said [BEEP] I’d be banned
‘Cause I’m your garbageman.

