TOP 200 SONGS OF THE ’80S? UMMM, SORT OF…

PITCHFORK

Lists are funny things. Another “f”word I’d use to describe them, especially music lists, is frustrating. Pitchfork recently released their Top 200 Songs Of The 1980’s, and I’ll throw the link up in a minute, but first I’d like to offer up a quick comment, if y’all will allow me the soapbox time.

Pitchfork employs the most pretentious bunch of music critics on the planet. I hope you’ll agree. Any site that applies a decimal point system to their reviews is missing the point of music, I think. There’s nothing that sucks the fun/soul out of art faster than applying a fuzzy, subjective math equation to it. But, hey, sometimes they get it right (Blur’s output, for example), but most often I totally disagree with their critiques.

Lately they seem to be coming around a bit, though, and this list they’ve compiled regarding the best songs of the ‘80’s is a fascinating read. It’s full of stuff that I agree with, a bunch of stuff I don’t, and quite a few WTF moments. For example, there seems to be a lot of what the hip kids are calling “Yacht Rock” in there, and way more mainstream R&B I would expect. It’s a list that seems put together by a few people that actually lived through it, and a lot of people that didn’t, that experienced it after the fact. I dunno, that’s just my take. Curious as to what yours is.

TAKE A PEEK AT THE LIST HERE…

