The Best Albums Released Since 2000…maybe.

In 2012 I published my “Best Albums Since 2000” list. I thought it would be a fun exercise to look back on this post to see how right I was, but instead of patting myself on the back for all the brilliant choices I made I ended up cringing and kicking myself  more than anything. I made some baaaaad choices! Anyway, here they are complete with a little blurb about whether or not they’d still be on my list or not. I’m a glutton for punishment, so I’ll be updating the list with new entries in a few weeks, but for now I’d like to hear your choices, or commentary on mine. Be brutal. I can hack it. By the way, I’m not sure why it’s numbering the way it is (alphabetically vs numerically), but you get the gist. Different is good, yes?

    1. The Flaming Lips, Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots: I’m still good with this one, even though my overall rating for the band in general has dipped dramatically since I made this list, thanks to the freeform crap they’ve put out the last few years or so. But Yoshimi remains a towering achievement, despite Coyne’s attempts to demolish its legacy.
    2. My Morning Jacket, Z: A band that can do no wrong in my book. This would still be high on the list.
    3. Primal Scream, Xtrmntr: Ummmm, actually, I’m not as angry as I was, so I might be inclined to replace this with the underrated More Light, released in 2013.
    4. Super Furry Animals, Rings Around The World: One of my favorite bands of all time, and this remains in high rotation at the E household.
    5. LCD Soundsystem, This Is Happening: I don’t listen to this album as much as I used to, I’m sure it would be much further down the list…The music remains excellent, but I have to admit I find his yelping a little much at times.
    6. AIR, Le Voyage Dans La Lune: I still rate this a tad under Moon Safari as the band’s greatest achievement. I’m pretty sure I’m alone in this regard.
    7. Wilco, Yankee Hotel Foxtrot: I would replace this with the follow up, A Ghost Is Born, which I think is more consistently excellent.
    8. The Beach Boys, SMiLE: Ummm, I think was cheating a bit first time out…
    9. Spiritualized, Sweet Heart Sweet Light: Nope. Totally lost it’s luster. Wouldn’t be on this list at all anymore.
    10. M Ward, Post War: Post War remains a charming, hook filled oddity that I always find enjoyable.
    11. Grandaddy, The Sophtware Slump: Awesome record still deserves a spot.
    12. Sloan, Never Hear The End Of It: See above.
    13. Supergrass, Life On Other Planets: See above
    14. Spoon, Gimme Fiction: I think I would still include this one, but it would probably be further down the list.
    15. Beach House, BLOOM: Ah, it’s OK, but to be honest I haven’t felt the need to play it much in the last couple of years. Wouldn’t be on my current list.
    16. Paul Weller, Wake Up The Nation: I’d replace this with his latest, Saturn’s Pattern, whch I think is the best thing he’s done since Wild Wood.
    17. Beck, The Information: I still rate this album highly, unlike most, I know.
    18. Yo La Tengo, I Am Not Afraid Of You And I Will Beat Your Ass. Fantastic album, but would most likely be down a few numbers.
    19. Destroyer, Kaputt: I recently made the startling discovery that Dan Bejar is, indeed, Al Stewart. That said, I still really like the album a lot, it has that ‘80’s charm (Avalon/ China Crisis, especially) about it.
    20. Sigur Ros, Agaetis Byrjun: Thought I liked these guys, but really, I’m getting too old for this shit.
    21. Robyn Hitchcock, Goodnight Oslo: Would replace this one with Love From London, but c’mon! It’s Hitchcock!
    22. Radiohead, Hail To The Thief: Still like this album but only listen to about half of it now, so…gone.
    23. Madness, The Liberty Of Norton Folgate: Still the best album by Madness, might even be a little higher now.
    24. Rush, Snakes and Arrows: Replaced by Clockwork Angels, which is by far the better album.
    25. AIR, Talkie Walkie: As much as I love Air I’d have to push this one off the list to make room for some other worthy contender.
    26. LCD Soundsystem, Sound Of Silver: Actually this would probably be higher.
    27. Mercury Rev, All Is Dream: Sorry, while the ‘Rev remains a favorite this album is a little too gothic for my current tastes.
    28. Pet Shop Boys, YES: Not as good as I remember it being. The PSB’s have yet to release a bad album, but this is a pretty exclusive list and I think most will agree they released their best LP’s during the late ‘80’s/early ‘90’s.
    29. Super Furry Animals, Dark Days, Light Years: Still be here. Any SFA album released is going to make this list.
    30. PiL, This Is PiL: Still really enjoy this one…a lot. Glad Lydon’s still at it. We need him.
    31. Flaming Lips, Embryonic: Nope. Interesting, but doesn’t warrant repeat listening.
    32. The Horrors, Skying: Nope. Replace with Luminous, which is better.
    33. Brian Jonestown Massacre, Aufheben: Good God, no. What the Hell was I thinking?
    34. Califone, Roots and Crowns: Nope. Off you go.
    35. Here We Go Magic, A Different Ship: Yes, an album that only gets better with age.
    36. Paul Weller, Sonik Kicks: In hindsight it was a bit of a holding pattern-type of album.
    37. Radiohead, Kid A: More hype than anything else. Off you go.
    38. M Ward, A Wasteland Companion: Sorry, not as good as Post War.
    39. M83, Hurry Up We’re Dreaming: Nope.
    40. Metronomy, The English Riviera: This would remain. Still a great, quirky little album.
    41. Primal Scream, Evil Heat: Nope. More worthy candidates waiting in line.
    42. The Strokes, Is This It?: Sure. Why not, was a great jolt of energy and is still an excellent, if brief, listen.
    43. Ryan Adams, Gold: The only Ryan Adams album I’ve been able to embrace, and I still love it!
    44. Thomas Dolby, A Map Of The Floating City: Yes, Dolby is a genius and this is the very definition of underrated.
    45. Wilco, A Ghost Is Born: Move up the list and replace Yankee Hotel Foxtrot.
    46. Mark Lanegan Band, Blues Funeral: What the hell was I thinking? NEXT!
    47. Sloan, Action Pact: Anything by these guys has to stay.
    48. The Coral, Magic and Medicine: Nope. Off you go.
    49. Wilco, The Whole Love: Maybe #60…?
    50. Andrew Bird, Break It Yourself: Who are you again? Sorry, but off you go.
    51. Belle and Sebastian, The Life’s Pursuit: Still a good listen, but would most likely be replaced.
    52. My Morning Jacket, Circuital: In my opinion the weakest of all MMJ albums, so I’d toss it off the list.
    53. Neon Indian, Era Extrana: No…man, this is getting a little embarrassing.
    54. Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds: Dig, Lazarus, Dig!: Thank God! This is still high on my list, and in my opinion one of Cave’s best.
    55. Nick Lowe, The Old Magic: Youbetcha!
    56. Spoon, Transference: Er, back to the sub-par efforts. Nope, would most definitely be gone.
    57. Supergrass, Road To Rouen: Love it still.
    58. Flaming Lips, At War With The Mystics: probably bounced for something else.
    59. My Morning Jacket, Evil Urges: Not sure but probably still here.

    60._______________________________(put your pick here)

