What Songs Could You Live Without?

Actually, what I want to know is: what songs could you not live without?

I think it was John Peel who said that everyone reaches a point in their life where they know they will never hear certain songs again. There’s just not enough time left. I’m not sure why this thought popped into my head today, but it did, and it got me thinking about what songs do I need to hear again before I depart this earthly realm (oh, I think it’s obvious: I’ve been listening to a little Hawkwind lately!).

Of course there are hundreds if not thousands of songs I would regret never hearing again so I limited my list to the first 52 that popped into my head. Why 52? I don’t know, I just had to stop. Honestly, I did scroll the old ipod very quickly just to make sure I didn’t miss some essentials. I definitely would have had I not checked. You’ll notice that some of my choices are of the obvious variety, others maybe not so much. But I’m being honest here and not simply choosing the “critics choice” song, you know? I also stuck to the one artist rule, which was HARD.

Anyway, let me know what you think.

God Only Knows, The Beach Boys
Butterfly McQueen/Rodney King, The Boo Radleys
Waterloo Sunset, The Kinks
Goodbye Stranger, Supertramp
The Prophet’s Song, Queen
Some Things Come From Nothing, Super Furry Animals
MMMM Skyscraper I Love You, Underworld
The World Is My Oyster/Welcome To The Pleasuredome, Frankie Goes To Hollywood
Left To My Own Devices, Pet Shop Boys
Making Plans For Nigel, XTC
An Englishman In New York, Godley and Crème
I’m Not IN Love, 10cc
No More Mr Nice Guy, Alice Cooper
A Day In The Life, The Beatles
Lido Shuffle, Boz Scaggs
The Call Up, The Clash
Georgio By Moroder, Daft Punk
Moon Over Marin, Dead Kennedys
Pulp, Common People
Rush, The Camera Eye
Sultans Of Swing, Dire Straits
Driver’s Seat, Sniff N The Tears
This Beat Goes On/Switchin’ To Glide, The Kings
Riders On The Storm, The Doors
And No One Waved Goodbye, Edwyn Collins
Forest Fire, Lloyd Cole and the Commotions
Don’t Bring Me Down, ELO
Can’t Get Used To Losing You, The Beat
Luminol, Steven Wilson
When Love Breaks Down, Prefab Sprout
Temptation, New Order
One For My Baby (and One More For The Road), Frank Sinatra
Take 5, Dave Brubeck
Kinky Afro, Happy Mondays
Higher Than The Sun, Primal Scream
Little Fluffy Clouds, The Orb
Flag Day, Housemartins
When It Started To Begin, Nick Heyward
Joan Of Arc, OMD
The Passenger, Iggy Pop
Give It Up Or Turnit A Loose, James Brown
The Human Jungle, Jazz Butcher
Steppin’ Out, Joe Jackson
Paul McCartney, Band On The Run
Perfect Day, Lou Reed
Heroin, Velvet Underground
Yin And Yang (The Flowerpot Man), Love and Rockets
Tomorrow’s Just Another Day, Madness
I Love The Sound Of Breaking Glass, Nick Lowe
Holes, Mercury Rev
Drugs In My Pocket, The Monks
Always Look On The Bright Side Of Life, Monty Python

