Reason #337 Why The ’80’s Didn’t Suck: This Is The Day, This Is The Hour, This…Is This!

PWEIHoly crap! How many posts down and I haven’t mentioned this album yet? If I had to pick one album that pretty much defined my musical life for at least the whole of the ’90’s after its release, well, This Is The Day…This Is The Hour…This Is This! would be, well…it.

This was a record that was rarely out of the player, and I was lucky enough to see them for this tour, in Toronto, at a fairly small venue. It was a corker, if memory serves (which nowadays it sometimes don’t). They were touted as the English Beastie Boys, but to me they were so much more complicated, and exciting, than that would have you believe. No one, aside from maybe Renegade Soundwave, was doing what they were doing in 1989; that is blending metal guitars, punk attitude, dance beats and pop culture samples in a totally original way. Yes, the “rhyming” was a little simplistic, but aren’t they all, really? Songs like Can U Dig It?, Def Con One, Wise Up Sucker, Preaching To The Perverted and especially the hilarious and simply amazing Not Now James blew the top of my head clear off it’s rusty hinges and turned me in a whole new direction! I mean, any song that samples from the cult film The Warriors is OK in my book.

Time has dated this somewhat, and I generally prefer the follow up (Cure For Sanity), but when I dig this out and give it a spin it still gives me the chills.

