Reason #346 Why The ’80’s Didn’t Suck: Black Sea

xtc-black-seaXTC are one of the greatest bands to come out of Britain since…, well, ever. This is not speculation and neither is it a matter of taste. It simply is. There is a string of 10 (!) good to great consecutive albums in their discography, and that’s not counting their excellent album as Dukes Of Stratosphere!

Since this is an ‘80’s centric blog I’m limited to only 7 of these (including DOS), and I have already talked about Skylarking, so that leaves 6. Today we’ll briefly discuss the considerable merits of 1980’s Black Sea. I was 12 when I first heard Making Plans For Nigel (which was released in 1979 on it’s parent album Drums and Wires, and which is also excellent and one of the streak I spoke of earlier). The first XTC album I can remember listening to is Black Sea, taken in by the schizoid pop of Colin Moulding’s General and Majors, then by the bombastic, more pop oriented Respectable Street. To me, these 2 songs (along with Making Plans for Nigel) were the keys that opened the door. While this is not a perfect album (by XTC standards, anyway) is a very good album, one that rewards repeat listens.

