Sad Bastard Music: A Sub-Genre

sadsadWell, if it isn’t really a recognized sub-genre, it should be!

Man do I have a bitch of a head cold, I’ve been coughing up phlegm like crazy for three days now, and I really do not feel like listening to anything ‘happy’. No cheery, sunny psychedelia for me, no sir! I require lots of melodrama today; sighing bassoons, aching violins and lone, quiet acoustic guitars. Maybe a Melotron or maybe even a bowed saw. I want songs whose lyrics contemplate the BIG questions about life and death, and perhaps some otherworldly musings on what it’s like to be a vampire would be a pleasant diversion.

Yeah, man, the Nyquil (or NeoCitrin to all my Canadian friends) is really kickin’ in now! I have to say, the Goth kids down at the mall know the score with their runny mascara, teased Robert Smith hair and black Hot Topic bondage garb; middle to upper class kiddies wanting desperately to escape their privileges and be seen as “deep”, and “contemplative“. They want you to know that they HURT, that they are the true outsiders, and the type of music they listen to is conclusive evidence of that. After brooding at the mall for about six hours mumbling under their breaths about what a fascist and unholy thing the mall is, they go home, eat their dinner (bought at the food court) with their folks and siblings and fall asleep to the wonderful sound-stylings of early ‘80’s era Bauhaus.

I used to be one of them kids, kind of. I was always more into Punk, which is even more hypocritical, when you stop and think about it. My favorite shirt was black, with a white skull in the middle, with knife and fork “crossbones”, and a big anarchy symbol on the back. Oh, did I mention that I was living at home, with a mum and dad, who were about as stable as Ozzie and Harriet and who pretty much supported every decision I made, stupid or otherwise? God, what a knob I was back then.

So, I’m in THAT kind of a mood today. It’s raining and cold, the holidays are long gone, and it’s a perfect day for wallowing in self pity.

Today, right as I am about to pass out from that Nyquil I told you about earlier, I offer you what I believe to be the perfect soundtrack for such a day as today. Music so gosh-darned miserable one cannot listen to one note without weeping uncontrollably. This be sinister stuff.

If I have left off your perfect sad bastard album, let me know in the comments section.

The Cure, Disintegration

Leonard Cohen, Songs Of Love And Hate

Nick Drake, Pink Moon

The Smiths, Meat Is Murder

Lou Reed, Berlin

The THE, Infected

Tears For Fears, The Hurting

The Sisters Of Mercy, Floodland

Bauhaus, Press The Eject And Give Me The Tape

Radiohead, Hail To The Thief

Pink Floyd, Animals

Nirvana, In Utero

Nick Cave, The Boatman’s Call

Mercury Rev, All Is Dream

Joy Division, Closer

Pulp, This Is Hardcore

Suicide, Suicide

Public Image Ltd, Metal Box

Nine Inch Nails, The Downward Spiral

Big Star, Third/Sister Lovers

