Reason #396 Why The ’80’s Didn’t Suck: Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap

ddddcFor all you AC/DC purists out there, before you even start, I KNOW this was originally released in 1976. But as far as I know it wasn’t released here (North America) domestically until 1981. So I’m gonna use it. My blog, my rules. Blah blah blah.

Anyway, along with 1978’s Powerage I think Dirty Deeds is probably the most under appreciated album in the bands catalog. It’s also considered the slightest, wrongly so. And other than Let There Be Rock it is also, in my opinion, the punkiest album AC/DC would ever release. The title track remains one of the most subversive songs ever to hit the mainstream, Ride On is a beautiful and very uncharacteristic ballad (yep, you read that right, a BALLAD, and not even of the power variety!); Ain’t No Fun (Waiting ‘Round To Be A Milionaire contains the very best lyric of Scott’s career (“Get your fuckin’ jumbo jet off my airport”!”), and Big Balls and Love At First Feel are wonderfully puerile.

Not their best, but among them, certainly.

