Reason #403 Why The ’80’s Didn’t Suck: Bob and Doug McKenzie

bob and dougJust check out the track listing for a moment:

1. This Is Our Album, Eh?
2. The Beerhunter
3. School Anouncements
4. The Miracel Of Music
5. Peter’s Donuts
6. Gimme A Smoke
7. Take Off
8. Coffee Sandwich
9. Welcome To Side 2
10. Doug’s Mouth
11. Elron McKenzie
12. Black Holes
13. You Are Our Guest
14. Ernie’s Mom
15. Twelve Days Of Christmas
16. Ralph The Dog
17. Okay, This Is The End, Eh?

In my half-Canadian and most biased opinion, this is one of the funniest, cleverest, subversive comedy albums ever made. Track 6, Take Off, features Geddy Lee and was my first real exposure to the humor inherent in the music of Rush. The Beerhunter is basically beer roulette, Gimme a Smoke is what you’d think it’d be about, and The Twelve Days Of Christmas has been a standard every December in my household for over 20 years now. Rick Moranis and Dave Thomas are geniuses and everyone, non-Canucks included, should own a copy of this.