Reason #408 Why The ’80’s Didn’t Suck: Bummed

bummedI ignored this album for years! Always overshadowed by its more polished follow up, Pills, Thrills And Bellyaches (which, incidentally, still sounds brilliant today…), Bummed has gotten a bad rap. In revisiting this album fairly recently via the marvelous 2-disk “Collector’s Edition” I am forced to change my attitude a bit. The production by Martin Hannett (Joy Division, others), which I always thought muddy now sounds fresh and psychedelic in the best possible way. The shambolic nature of the music itself, especially when compared to it’s younger sibling, sounded amateurish and a little off putting; to me, now, it sounds funky and gloriously anarchistic. Ryder’s vocals and lyrics, well, I always loved his slurred nonsensical rants, and he doesn’t disappoint here.

The “Collector’s Edition” comes complete with the Madchester Rave On EP, and a whole slew of remixes that would point them in the direction of Pills…Here’s the full track listing:

bummed tracks…and here’s a video of Wrote For Luck! If you’re prone to epileptic seizures, skip the vid!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HJ7bfHizM0I

