Reason #417 Why The ’80’s Didn’t Suck: Earth Sun Moon

love andThe second, but not the last, Love and Rockets album to grace this list, Earth Sun Moon is a transitional album joining the dots between the band’s goth roots and the pop smash that would be the next, self-titled album (thanks to the hit So Alive). Re listening to this album the other day after at least a couple of years made me realize what a fantastic instrument, when used sparingly, the flute is. Yes, I know. Those of you who read my other blog, Uncle E’s Musical Nightmares are screaming “Hypocrite!!!” right about now, given my past rants regarding this Medieval instrument. But I have changed my tune! Old Genesis and a ton of other great songs, including No New Tale To Tell from this album, have forced me to reevaluate. And, Jethro Tull Aside, I have to admit that the flute can be a good thing in rock and roll. Here, take a listen below and let me know what you think…

