Reason #420 Why The ’80’s Didn’t Suck: You Gotta Say Yes To Another Access

yelloMost recently name-checked in a song from the Destroyer album Kaputt, You Gotta Say Yes To Another Excess was my first Yello album, and as is so often the case with first albums it remains my favorite release by this electronic duo from Switzerland. Even though it doesn’t contain Oh Yeah

I can remember DJing some dance, I can’t recall the venue, or the date, and spinning the gurgling and spastic opening track I Love You as my opening number. Blank stares abounded, and the patrons were as still as statues. But the next track, Alien Sex Fiend’s Drive My Rocket (Up Uranus), made this one sound tame. I wasn’t asked back.

I guess you could call them weird, but I just call them ahead of their time. They’re still producing albums, and they’re still pretty good. Check out 2003’s fantastic The Eye for proof.

