Reason #428 Why The ’80’s Didn’t Suck: Rhythm Of Youth

men withoutRhythm Of Youth, and Men Without Hats in general confuses me in a way. I love them, and especially this album, but I am not sure it’s due to the quality of their music or if it’s simply a case of nostalgia. I’d like to think it’s the former but I really can’t tell.

The album for me has always sounded nostalgic, in a futuristic sort of way. Like a band from 2134 doing a retro thing from 2098, if that makes any sense. And the sole hit, and it was a MONSTER OF A HIT, The Safety Dance, ain’t even close to being the best song on the record, no sir. The Great Ones Remember, I Got The Message, Living In China, I Like and Things In My Life are all superior to that ‘other’ song’.  Check out the insanely catchy I Got The Message in the video below for emphatic and undeniable proof.

