Reason #431 Why The ’80’s Didn’t Suck: Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret

soft cell1In a nutshell this album is sleaze personified. To wit, the lyrics to Sex Dwarf:

“Walk my doggie, walk my little Sex Dwarf
We can make a scene, we’ll be a team
Making the headlines sounds like a dream
When we hit the floor you just watch them move aside

We can have playtime in my little playroom
Disco dollies, my Sex Dwarf and my dumb chaufer

I would like you on a long black leash
You can bring me all the things I need

Sex Dwarf, isn’t it nice
Luring disco dollies to a life of vice?”

The music is minimal, early techno with a hint of Bladerunner. But don’t call it synth-pop. If you come to this album expecting 40 minutes of Tainted Love you’ll be in for a rude awakening. Even that song, in the context of the album, takes on a whole new meaning. It goes from a poppy Motown cover to a sordid back alley tryst. Master and Servant? Pah! Child’s play!

It’s all wonderful.

