Reason #433 Why The ’80’s Didn’t Suck: 1999

1999This is a naughty, naughty album.

Naawwwtaaayyy!

It’s a lot filthier than I remember. It’s not that I’m opposed to such things (how could I be? “Too Drunk To Fuck” was blaring from my car stereo speakers quite regularly back then), it just came as quite a jolt. How could my recollection of something be so off? I mean, I guess it was naivety, me being only 15 or so when this came out. I swear I only recently just figured out what a “little red corvette” meant in the world of Prince.  And it’s naughty.

I promised a friend that I would give the discography of Prince another shot. I always loved this album and its singles (the already mentioned …Corvette, Delirious and the title track) but I haven’t listened to it in at least 20 years. The whole terrible soundtrack to Tim Burton’s “Batman” and the over-saturation of Purple Rain left a bitter taste. Perhaps time will heal my distaste for the little guy. I’m starting small, and with 1999, because it’s the one Prince album that never really left me. I’ve always had a soft spot for it.

Does it sound dated? Yeah, but endearingly so, and is a nice contrast to the scatological lyrical content. I’m liking it more and more, enough so that I feel comfortable enough to move on to another.

