Reason #438 Why The ’80’s Didn’t Suck: Making Plans For Nigel

2 posts on the same band? Say it ain’t so! Yeah, what the hell, why not, bobs yer uncle, etc etc etc. My blog, my rules. And I got news for ya, this won’t be the last post y’all will see on XTC here at this little old blog-o-mine. They were that good.

Anyhew, Making Plans For Nigel. This song, penned by Colin Moulding, appeared on the 1979 (yeah, I know, wait for it) album Drums and Wires, but I am sure was released as a single sometime in early 1980. I am positive, and if I’m wrong, well, it should have been as it’s amazingly indicative of the best the young decade was churning out and sounds like nothing else in the XTC cannon. If you were to force me, at gunpoint, to come up with a list of my top 5 songs of the decade I feel sure that this would be on that list. I freakin’ love this song. It somehow manages to sound like it was released somewhere in the very near future (2017, maybe?) then beamed back to 1980. It’s the drums, the synthesizer, the guitar…especially the guitar that makes this such a bizarre, futuristic sounding behemoth of a record. The lyrics are so 1980’s England, though, ain’t they?

We’re only making plans for Nigel
He has his future in a British steel
We’re only making plans for Nigel
Nigel’s whole future is as good as sealed
And if young Nigel says he’s happy
He must be happy
He must be happy in his work

If I could have one more kid, and make it a boy, I would name him Nigel.

