Reason #445 Why The ’80’s Didn’t Suck: Doolittle

This Pixies album, more than all the others (and they’re all great), deserves its place as one of the top 10 best albums of the decade. This is the Pixies second official album, and it shows that abrasive alternative rock could also be melodic and, dare I say it? Sweet. The band dialed down the sonic assault for Doolittle but left Frank Black’s stream of consciousness maniacal ravings intact, which led to one hell of an interesting and entertaining album. Debaser, Wave Of Mutilation (although I prefer the slowed down version myself) and Here Comes Your Man were the ‘poppy’ ones, and Monkey Gone To Heaven and Gouge Away hearkened back to their debut. In other words, a good mix.

I was late to the Pixies party, and didn’t purchase this album until around 1993 or so, but I’ve made up for it since, and although every album they did is worth owning this one is the one to get first.

