Reason #491 Why The ’80’s Didn’t Suck: Introspective

The Pet Shop Boys were never a favorite until I heard Left To My Own Devices from this, the PSB’s most dance oriented album. That song is simply one of the greatest songs of all time, no question. The production on this album by Trevor Horn sounds like you’d imagine from a T.H. record: big, lush, symphonic, dramatic. Like all PSB albums though it’s got humor, as evidenced by the pulsating I Want A Dog. The massive Its Alright, clocking in at over 9 minutes, is a favorite, and their cover/extended mix of Always On My Mind is a dance floor classic. The others, Domino Dancing and I’m Not Scared are great, but are the lesser of the six.

From here I would go backwards, then forwards, through their discography, devouring virtually everything I could get my hands on. And while they’ve put out great albums before and since Introspective they have never bettered it.

